http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Jun. 14, 2004 9:43 am )

>Why I love Flag Day

Well, hey. I just realized by looking at the top of the screen here that today is my 24th birthday. I knew this already, of course, but I keep forgetting that today is the real day because I celebrated fer reals on Saturday. But happy birthday to me. My first and probably only present today was that the cable guy came, so we finally have TV again after the month-long drought. Hence, A Wedding Story for me today, if I can stand it.

Saturday's festivities included a birthday lunch with my parents, aunt, grandmother, and Juney at a very fancy place. My aunt got me some humorous hot pink-themed gifts, and my parents had given me my presents the night before, which included an interview-type suit, which makes me kind of sad for my mom. I ain't in need of no suit, chum.

Saturday night was my long-awaited party, which I found sufficiently touching and madcap, and included gifts of origami, balloon animals, and ice pops. The porch party turned out to have been a great idea, being very pleasant and comfortable and filled with drinking and eating people in the dark, and I was socially outstanding, mingling from group to group. My core crew of Big Chain Bookers pretty much all showed, and brought me a hatbox full of origami made by everyone who had been at work that day, which I found so so touching.

We headed off the porch about 10:30 and went down the street to the divey bar, which I thought was a decent place, though the jukebox selection was iffy. By about one it was just me and a couple friends from work and a few other kids we had befriended at the bar, which had become crowded, and where we stayed til 3 having an amusing time. My work twin enjoys the trendy bisexuality and tried to get me to make out with her all night. Though I'd always assumed my dream date would be ME, it proved not to be the case on Saturday. As it turns out, I'm not at all attracted to me. Anyhoo, I wound up giving my phone number to not one but two guys. And they were brothers. Whatever, eh.

So that was Saturday. As per my new teariness, I cried at the bar when Juney came up and told me that I should see all the people that came out for me and realize that that's why I should stay in Philly, and especially for her, since I'm the best friend she has here. Teared up a little. I was a little perturbed too because Cally never came or emailed or anything, and it hurt terribly to think he can be so indifferent to me, so I was sort of emotional and really moved by everything anyone said and hugged people I haven't hugged before. Oh, cruel but beautiful world.

Cable! Haircut! Groceries! Mid-twenties!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )