http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Jul. 19, 2003 8:21 pm )

>Idle idyll and hallucinating just a little bit

Helloooooo again! I am freshly back from vacating at the Cottage, and it was stupendous, especially if you like 1. sitting in the sun, 2. rocking on the porch, 3. eating every few minutes, 4. swimming, and 5. drinking in the afternoon. And I like these things almost to the exclusion of anything else, unless of course it is 6. reading 20 back issues of People magazine that your mom saved up for you. Wahoo. It was great. I also got to see my dad, my brother, and my grandma, who I haven't seen in a long long time.

Also in attendance was my cousin Raymond, previously mentioned in a very early entry that I'm not going to even bother trying to link here--but it involved a top ten list describing his recreational drug use and love of clubbing. Anyway, he was there. One evening we both wound up awake after everyone else was in bed, and as it turned out he had come to the (boring, elderly) Cottage equipped with the finest in hydroponic marijuana and a very pretty glass pipe. So anyway, we went down to the swing on the lawn and smoked in the pitch black, and he told me how he's taken basically every drug there is (and really it was every single one I've ever heard of) but has now discovered a love of alcohol. Also he smokes weed with his parents--my aunt and uncle!--which explained some father-son "nature walks" and sudden naps during the visit. He said they've been bonding like never before as a result.

I too practiced a little bit of substance abuse with my mom when she came up to visit me that time, only then it was alcohol, and I felt pretty bad because she drank much more than she usually does and felt so dizzy when we got home that she couldn't sleep and I tried to make her eat a bunch of toast at 2 a.m. Also she told Call a lot of unnecessary stories.

Both my parents were here last night, dropping me off here. My dad installed my air conditioner and then took me and Matt and Juney out for Thai food. At the same time, a TV show called Hack was filming on our block. The wardrobe trailer was directly across from our house and as my parents and I were coming up my steps, my dad pulled us over to point out a guy exiting the trailer. I thought "big deal, some guy," but my mother commenced shrieking "David Morse! It's David Morse!" That's the star of the show, who my parents recognize from 80's show St. Elsewhere, which was definitely on past my bedtime, and most likely yours too. Anyway, Morse kept walking, but my mom finally had an exciting, large, big-city time such as I was unable to provide when she visited.

In other news, Call wants me to meet his parents some time next weekend. AHHHHHH! Scary. I said, "that would be nice." Oh my. Anyway, I haven't seen the boy himself in about a week, since I was away, and then he went off to VA til Wed. Poor lonely me.

Dinner time!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )