http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002 11:29 pm )

>Project P.L.A.N.

Today while releasing another moth out of the bathroom window, we noticed that the radiator was warm for the first time, and rushed around removing all the stuff we had piled on top of various radiators in the apartment. It reminded me of living in the dorms at PCU, and coming back at night to find the room toasty warm for once and the radiator clanking away like it was full of self-propelled marbles. It used to be like a holiday for me, the first day the heat came on, especially since it was usually on the fifth consecutive 30 degree day in Autumn.

Today I had a disheartening talk with Landlady Ellie re: paint color selection, in which she and I held five or six pink squares up to the wall repeatedly and she told me that sometimes she thinks she drove her husband away with all the paint chip decisions she presented him with. Boy did I ever not know what to say to that. She was joking, but really, how to respond? "Yeah, I bet you did har har!"

The absent husband has been an intriguing mystery for Juney and me. When did he leave? Why so close to the birth of his child? What happened? Were they really married? Did he pay for this house? Where is he now? Ellie is a mystery, wrapped inside an enigma, wrapped inside a riddle. But something tells me we'll solve that mystery with the help of our friend alcohol.

Speaking of alcohol, I bought beer today, so the fridge is reassuringly clinky with bottles.

Do you think it's odd that nobody calls me? I'm not a very call-y person either, so it is a bit strange that it's always me calling first. I just got an email from my mother today asking if we're in contact enough. She's been trying "not to crowd" me, and I applaud her for this accurate insight into my personality, however, I wouldn't consider it crowding for my own mother to call me once in two months. It is odd, isn't it? I've only received phone calls from telemarketers, Juney, and once, Nathan. I guess I'm more concerned with my green email light, which is trying to psych me out all the time. Sometimes it is off when I have new mail, so I check it even when it looks as though I have no messages because once in a blue moon I am rewarded. It's a cruel experiment Juno is conducting on me.

I'm going into the city tomorrow morning, because I'm getting into a walky mood again. Unfortunately for you, I am not in a writey mood, so you get this mediocrity. Maybe I'll be drunk tomorrow night and there'll be a better entry.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )