http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2002 12:43 am )

>I am thankful for cherry chapstick, clean clothes, and highways

The NaNoWriMo snovel proceeds apace (37,600 words), although it has degenerated to the point where nothing happens except for boring telephone calls between characters. Also I had someone eat a popsicle. Oh, the narrative excitement! Nevertheless, I am now positively steely in my determination to finish by Nov. 30, despite the T-giving hardships this will entail.

Today I had a productive day in that I went to get my hair cut and I did my laundry. I had to rest up after this burst of activity. Anyway, I got my hair cut at the same place I went to last time, only this time with the talkative owner of the place, who was amusing but kind of sad because he mentioned showing up at his eighth grade girlfriend's house recently and surprising her (I'll bet). She married the kid who once flushed his (my hairdresser's) head at school. He's unmarried now. That's a tough life. I again heard, "Does that feel better?" when he was done, and I guess it did. I love this place because it's the first establishment I have come across in which the hairdressers do not feel free to insult me for having boring and profuse hair. No, here they are just there to make me FEEL BETTER. It's a beautiful world.

One thing I observed was that I would probably be way better at social interaction if I always had a mirror right in front of me so that I could monitor myself and make sure I was reacting properly and just generally sending out the right vibe. Currently I feel my vibe may be frequently screwy, but I was very friendly at the hairdresser's and enjoyed watching my smiling face in the mirror.

Oh, how does my hair look, you ask? Well, kind of the same actually. I keep intending to do something drastic, but then the phrase "two inches" comes out of my mouth at the critical moment, and things look pretty much the same. Ah well, maybe before Xmas I'll make a change.

Anyway, so I'm going home tomorrow evening. It should be a long drive, and very taxing to my social skills (first leg of the journey=car ride with Christopher, Juney, and the girl who was a devil at the H-ween party; second leg=car ride home with Juney's parents, oy). But it shall be good to be home again, especially to see Adam.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )