http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002 12:56 am )

>Paint first and ask questions later

Today Juney and I made hay while the sun shone, so to speak, and spent a few hours reading outside in the backyard, which is tiny and overgrown with ivy, but luckily incorporates three whole trees. She was reading boring bio articles and trying to tell me something amusing about abbreviations for proteins (not that amusing), I was reading about Maggie running away to the gypsies in Mill on the Floss, and we were intermittantly discussing what we would do if we bought the house from Landlady Ellie. The concept of communal living was introduced, but I don't think Juney's up to sharing a kitchen with my hypothetical family, even if we did get a stove like Chandler and Joey have, with eight burners and two ovens. More agreeable was the idea of a hammock on the porch and a hot tub in the attic.

In the evening we went to a rather sophisticated little restaurant in the city that serves fondue (among other things). We were feeling a little underdressed, but nevertheless had beer, cheese and porcini fondue, and some chocolate cake, which pretty much took care of the rest of our babysitting profits. It was very amusing, and the beer made us both very candid about discussing our futures and fears, and we resolved to do it again next month, though dressed up this time. So far we've done a little of this pretend Sex and the City type stuff, but each time have just been wearing normal clothes instead of bizarre toilet papery dresses and evil-looking pointy shoes. Next time I will not be caught underprepared!

I really like being in the city at night. It lets me know I did the right thing to move, because it's so nice to see crowds of people milling around after dark. Things to do and people to see, and only five minutes away--it's incredible.

The restaurant we ate at had a weird funk/disco soundtrack playing the whole time. It was kind of bizarre, but I guess in keeping with the 70s nature of serving fondue.

Tomorrow I am once again resolving to go to Fake Church (UU). This time, though, I feel more confident that I will actually go, since the services are on the regular schedule of 11 am, rather than the summer schedule, 10 am. I can manage to be out of the house by 10:30, I think.

Ooh, and Ellie bought the paint for the bathroom! It's going to be dark blue on the bottom and light blue on the top. I can't wait to see how the colors look. I also have a desire to paint gold stars on the ceiling. I don't really want to run that by Ellie first; I'd rather beg pardon later than ask permission first.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )