http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Nov. 23, 2003 3:06 pm )

>That which we are, we are

This is one of those things I've been saving to write for about three days now, because while I was flabbergasted by this incident, I knew it was not something that would easily translate into a storyhour for the people I know in actual life. (Similar to the reappearance of Opus on the comics page which makes me go nuts, but no one else I know cares. I'm gonna write to my mom and dad about it. No one cares!)

Anyway, so me and Call were lying in my bed the other night, talking. I was almost asleep and he was in the talky mood, which is what I like best, and he was being all sciencey and saying something like, "well, you know how the circulatory system works, right?" and then went on to tell me all about it. You know, talking in that low we're-in-bed voice, but not saying sweet things about my greatness, but rather describing the journey of blood through the heart and body. And it occurred to me as I was lying there how incredibly insane it was that he was telling me about my heart when all I wanted was for him just to once say one word about love to me. How could one man be more clueless? It occurred to me that it would be a great thing to put in a novel or short story, and then it occurred to me that it wouldn't because it would be too frickin obvious and transparently symbolic and totally unrealistic except that it actually happened. You know nothing of my heart! Damn the scientist. No, actually, I'm trying to just chill out lately, because at least he acts like he loves me, and I think Benjamin Franklin told me actions speak louder than words.

Last night we went to a somewhat horrendous science geek party at which I was very uncomfortable and didn't know anybody. Tonight we're going to hang out with people in his lab (the ones I like best, luckily) outside the city--I'm trying not to look too too forward to it, because isn't it funny how the things you anticipate being funnest usually aren't, and then random things like a day at work or watching TV with Juney or Call turn out to be the funnest thing of all time? I'm also looking forward to going home for Thanksgiving. I'm leaving right from work on Wednesday and I can't wait I can't wait I can't wait.

I'm glad to be off from work today. Sometimes I love it, and sometimes, like today, I know I need to find a new job.

Have you read "This Book Will Change Your Life"?

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )