http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Sept. 28, 2002 12:14 am )

>Elbows, names, humidity

My brother Adam's elbow was on Conan last night. He emailed me to tell me to watch for the part when they show four ladies in the audience on camera, and Adam's sitting in front of them, so you can see his elbow for a second before they zoom in. While I was quite excited to see my boy on TV, the elbow was a bit anticlimatic. I somehow expected to recognize it as belonging to Adam, but in fact I had to watch the show again this evening on Comedy Central to confirm that it was indeed the elbow I was looking for and that it in no way conveyed that it belonged to my brother. I'm a bit disappointed: Adam would have been really good at driving the desk with Conan, I know it.

I spent a good deal of time yesterday figuring out which HMO plan to enroll in. My father is bankrolling my health insurance for me. My original intention was to do without until I get a job because I haven't been to the doctor in years anyway and I'm hardly ever sick. His opinion was that I might be hit by a bus. It's hard to argue with that, but I'd be willing to chance it, cause I always look both ways. Anyway, the only amusing thing about spending two hours comparing health plans was searching for primary physicians. Should I go with Dr. Cheeseman? Or perhaps Dr. James Dean?

In other name news, I was walking downtown today (because for me no day is complete unless I've hiked 30 blocks) and I noticed a sign on the local department store, Stawbridge's, informing me that the two founding partners of the store back in the day were Bobby Strawbridge, or whatever, and Joseph Clothier. His name was Clothier, did you catch that?? It's as if the founders of Tower Records were John Tower and Edward Records. Malcolm Campbell and Philip Soup. Alexander Durex and Paul Condoms. You get the idea.

Also, if you're in the Easterly part of the US, wasn't today odd, weather-wise? It was freezing and rainy in the morning, but in the afternoon it was suddenly hot and sunny and the air was like a wet blanket. My 30 blocks were covered in a mostly sweaty and unattractive way, plus I was carrying around a wool sweater. I forgot about how Fall goes, I guess, so there was a little miscalculation on my part. We're back to freezing and rainy now.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )