http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003 11:11 pm )

>"I am a visitor here, I am not permanent"

Tonight Juney and I spent some quality time casting the movie I am contemplating writing, a romantic comedy very loosely based on my life in Philly, only with much less riding the bus with a grim look on my face after confronting the unpleasant reality of my bank account (but more on that later). Also less spinsterhood. We're still up in the air about which delightful ingenue to put in the pivotal role of "Almostreally." I'm really insisting on a brown-haired actress, under the age of 25, and striking/beautiful rather than bubbly/cute. Liv Tyler is the top choice right now, but more and more I'm thinking we should go with an unknown. Anyway, the general plot line is about the wacky and put-upon main character (me) who is dating a very effeminate guy that everyone (except for me) suspects of gayness. At the same time, I am regularly harrassed by a mean bike messenger guy, souring me on all bike boys. And then, after I am accidentally splashed from head to toe by a speeding cab, I meet a kind and towel-bearing bike messenger guy. And then some other events occur, perhaps a wacky montage of events set to music. And also there's a gratuitous subplot involving Juney sleeping with her boss (Matt Damon).

In my non-imaginary life, I actually spent the day "pounding the pavement" (sort of) in search of bookstores possibly looking to hire people. The search had some extra added urgency because I preceeded it with a trip to the bank (henceforth, "Scarytown"), where I spent a few moments in abject horror at my balance (or rather, after doing some mental math about what it would be after I pay rent on Sat.). I walked high, and I walked low, and I only managed to find one bookstore. I did put in an application there, despite my feeling that I was about to die in three places when I saw myself writing down my PCU degree and GPA. Just a few moments of self-doubt there, even though I do think I'm doing the right thing, really. I just hope I can find a job, quick-like.

I'm not really down-hearted though. I shall be courageous in the face of grim reality, like Charlotte Bronte, and transcendently self-confident, like Emerson.

Meanwhile, my obsessive song of the day is called "The District Sleeps Alone Tonight" by The Postal Service, a newish thing that sounds synth-y like the 80s only dreamy and catchy as all get out. I like songs by sad boys, don't you?

March will be a month of frantic snovel revision. I will be totally done with it by March 31st, this I swear.

Hope ramen is on sale this week.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )