http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Monday, Sept. 09, 2002 11:03 pm )

>Scenes from a day

Today begins my experiment of measuring exactly who loves me by observing my mailbox and inbox. Surprisingly, my cousin Derrick, previously mentioned in this diary as a participant in the cab ride of doom in Orlando last March, has emerged as the front runner, having emailed me three times in the past three days, apropos of nothing at all. All the more surprising since we've never had an actual conversation together. He even attached pictures of him and his girlfriend to this last one. It's so amusing being a grown-up!

In other news, tonight I am a bit of a pathetic dork, since I'm home alone and my roommate Juney is out at the pub for Monday night football with the science nerds. However, I have certain reserves of coolness saved up from having spent my afternoon in the city, wherein I purchased tickets to the dance performance "Britney's Inferno" for tomorrow night. Oh, am I excited? Muchly so! It's some sort of commentary on pop culture, I think, but it's set to Britney tunes. A totally cultural event. I'm also cool because tonight I made mashed potatoes for my dinner, and they were damned outstanding! Oh, and I also came up with an idea that might make a good magazine article, so maybe I can research that a little bit, and write a query, and get it accepted, and sell it. Taken together, these things make me feel I've had a day chock full of accomplishment. Maybe I'm not quite a grown-up after all. Oh, and I'm also happy because Juney got three books for me at the University library. Oh boy oh boy oh boy.

Some scenes from my day:

On South Street, a guy talking into his cell said "I can get a cheesesteak, a beer, and a blowjob for twenty bucks where I am now."

In Elferth's Alley, one of the houses was for sale, with an asking price of $355,000. It was also recycling day in the alley, and one of the neighbors' buckets was full of crumpled cans of Natty Light.

On the trolley home I stood next to a girl who had the outline of some western state tatooed in red on her arm in several places, with the state capitol marked with a star.

Tomorrow I'm really getting my hair cut, for real.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )