http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Sept. 06, 2002 4:02 pm )

>Perhaps a little too fond of powdered kitchen cleaner?

I couldn't get up this morning because I was having a number of strange dreams. In one I was leading a Polish resistance against the Germans by shoplifting clothes from the juniors section of a forbidden department store with some friends of mine. In another, Juney brought this guy home that she really liked and then he asked me out. June was like "No!" but he said he had a friend for her, and I was like, "well, tell us about the friend."

In other news, both my mother and Juney's mother contacted us yesterday to tell us the same bit of gossip from our town. This hippie-ish guy from our town, who has a daughter that we went to school with, had his barn struck by lightning. It caught on fire and presumably wrecked his furniture building and restoration business, which was housed in the barn. And worst of all, when the Man arrived on the scene, somebody smelled burning pot, and they discovered he was growing weed in the barn attic. So they arrested him. How's THAT for the giant hand of God reaching down from the clouds to give you the finger? Holy crap does that suck for him.

Today I spent the day cleaning, mostly in the kitchen. It was deeply, deeply satisfying. The windowsill by the stove was so filthy, just years of accumulated muck that mere paper towels and spray cleaner could not touch. BUT, friends, break out the Comet and the scrub brush, and holy cow--whiter than the driven snow. Comet is really a miracle product, I must say, and makes cleaning the tub an absolute joy. It is the bomb. And it has no fumes, so that is not an adequate explanation for why two hours of scouring surfaces makes me so happy.

Today is such a beautiful day. Would have been perfect for sitting about in the park, which is how I spent Wednesday. Yesterday Juney and I walked around campus, eating lunch from the foodcarts, including, for me, Bubble Tea, that delicious stuff with the peculiar tapioca doodies in the bottom. I like amusing beverages.

I'm also sending out a big batch of postcards this week, as if I am on vacation instead of just living here. Well, I suppose I am sort of vacationing. The point is, I love mail. We'll officially see whether anyone writes back to me.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )