http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2003 11:30 am )

>Move along, nothing to see here

I wasn't going to update, but then I realized that there were people out there who did not know the outcome of my intense paper mache session over the weekend. So here I am, to share. I have so far created a Day of the Dead-type skull head with a Shakespearean quote poorly translated into Spanish ("We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep." That's it in English, Shakespeare's native tongue. And mine. William Shakespeare.), a mask-like object that I haven't finished yet, and an astounding Mona Lisa-lady in deep relief and full color, coming out from her gold frame. It's fairly dope, so I now have plans to create a framed bust of a man in similar style as a companion piece: it's kind of like two ancestor portraits, only in folksy 3D. Bound for the living room, our closet-sized repository of crap. The lady is named Consuela; I want to call her yet-unmade husband Berto.

So that's what I've been up to, art projects, which would be great if I were about 13 years old. Oh, and I also finished the Charlotte Bronte bio, which was pretty dull, and big shocker: she dies at the end. Man, did she ever have a sad life. Wowza. I briefly considered taking on "Charlotte" as my new middle name (old one objected to on grounds of being plain, boring, and meaningless), but it just doesn't sound right with my other two names (which I am happy with). Previously rejected middle names include Henrietta (dear Grandma) and the initials X. or Q.

OK, so I'm happy with all my self-culture activities (reading, writing, painting, art projects, church, obsessive music downloading, bad arty movies, keeping this diary), because these are the things that I actually enjoy doing, but in many other ways I feel like I'm wasting my life and youth. I was just out with Ruby last Saturday, but that was the first time in ages, and I still feel desperate to go out, booze it up, to be uproarious, dance, make jokes, have friends, meet guys. I am severely lacking in these things. If I'm not working (and the money situation is getting real scary) I might as well be an amateur party girl, but instead I go to bed at 11:30. I guess most of the time I don't understand Juney, who has the opportunity to go out with the science geeks all the time, but would rather watch TV in her pajamas on weeknights. Youth. Slipping. Away. New resolution: do something about this.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )