http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Mar. 12, 2005 8:03 pm )

>The Good Lord wants us to sit still

My two lovelies, Davy and Jim, are in the grip of March Madness, so we were watching a game this afternoon (actually I was reading, until their shouts made it impossible and I had to watch too) in which time was running out and Blue team was nearly tied with White team. Anyhow, Blue player was fouled with absolutely no time left, and so got to take 3 shots--3 would have won the game, 2 would have tied it, 1 would have lost it. So he stepped to the line, all alone, and made the first shot. And missed the second. And.......missed the third. I was already almost throwing up with sympathetic nervousness for him, and then to watch him fail and crumple and pull the jersey over his head and fall to the court--we were all moaning for him, and there were actually tears in my eyes. The announcer, cruelly, was going "He'll never, never, never forget this moment," and some teammate was trying unsuccessfully to peel the kid off the floor. That poor, poor boy, who had to take the whole game and the whole school and the whole state and the whole ESPN watching audience on his shoulders. Man oh man. Why are sports so evil? I believe I may be competing in some boardgames tonight, and I can only pray that I can bear the terrible weight of competition on my delicate, flower-like shoulders. However, I am real real good at Scattergories.

Anyway, today has been a pleasantly dull day, including eggs and television with Davy, until I was driven away by excessive boredom to my lovely snug apartment to eat soup and vegetables with ginger dressing and drink tea for the first time in forever and read my girl Virginia and now to endlessly read internet diaries. It's unfortunate that the boy and I get sucked into TV watching and only TV watching so frequently, but hopefully with Spring coming we'll have the desire to leave the house occasionally. At least with a fellow potato I don't have to worry that I'm boring him to death with my lie-about nature.

The lord never intended us to jog anyway, I read in some crackpot book the other day. Also He doesn't want us to use contact lenses or deodorant or get immunized or use floride toothpaste or take mutli-vitamins or showers or travel by plane (boo).

Off to eat some more.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )