http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2002 11:46 pm )

>Ah, buddy. Ah, buddy.

I was trying to think of what to write today, but it's difficult since today was a masterpiece of hermitdom: I woke up late, I played The Sims, I watched A Dating and A Wedding Story, I ate ramen, and I reread Franny and Zooey. Much like my previous Pride and Prejudice realization that I was now older than Lizzy (but still younger than Jane!), I discovered that I have become older than Franny (but still younger than Zooey!). I like the part where Zooey tells his mother that to solve his problems he invites people into the bathroom with him to talk things through, and the end, when Franny goes to sleep in the newly painted room. It will have new resonance when I get around to painting my bedroom I'm sure. Christ himself, buddy.

Last night I dreamed that my parents had a new baby, a girl, and they asked my brother and I what they should name her. I was so happy in this dream, even though my mother seemed to be already set on the name Audrey, to "name her after Aunt Jean." Even in the dream this was a bit of a puzzler. Ever since I was very little, and up until maybe a year ago, I used to beg my parents to have a younger sister for me, but they weren't up for it. I think I was being very reasonable too, not even asking for what I really wanted, an older brother or a twin sister. I am nothing if not firmly grounded in reality.

In other news, Juney surprisingly agreed to attend the 215 Festival TMBG concert with me on Saturday, sure to be a heartbreaking concert of staggering pretentiousness. There's an afterparty elsewhere too: do you think it will be a hollywood good time, or merely an uncomfortable fancypants affair? Either way I think we should go and stay real late and see if Dave Eggers or somebody will get really drunk and try to make out with us, because friend, that is a story to tell. If you know people who know who Dave Eggers is. It's a story that could take a long introduction. Ooh, maybe Ben and J-Lo will be there. They love literature! Or as me and Kelly used to say at PCU: Lit-tra-ture. I'm on my own for the reading tomorrow night, but I swear to you I'm going; this will not be like all the times I swore to you that I was going to Fake Church.

Back on the TLC tip, I wanted to share that I frequently tell Juney that I'm going to sing the A Wedding Story theme song at her wedding reception when it comes time for me to make my maid of honor speech. I do it really good too. They just changed it, so I may have to learn the new version of it. Do you know it? I'm not sure, but if I had to title it, it would be "This Spark of Youth: the Deedle Deedle Deedle Doddle Doo Song."

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )