http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Nov. 08, 2003 7:13 pm )

>Dreams can come true

So, I think as a necessary counterbalance to the aforedescribed warm and fuzzy feelings towards the Callster, I was with him last night and it was sort of a downer, really. The thing is, we went to see my own personal movie, Love Actually, which was deeply exciting to me because I have an obsessive interest in a) Four Weddings and a Funeral and b) Mr. Darcy (Colin Firth). OK, admittedly, it was not a great movie, and admittedly, it was a great big ball of cheese, and true, I knew that Call would not like it since it was about "puppies and ice cream and shit" and was not about explosions and decapitations, but! the persistence with which he was down on it afterwards made me feel kind of bad and resentful that every time I ask him to go along with something I really want to do, he winds up all crabby about it. Plus, here is me, actively feeling all the corny dialogue about the sheer torture of being in love, and there he is, mocking it relentlessly. I really am going to sit on him and refuse to get up until he commits at least one mildly romantic gesture. I will take anything here; I will interpret the term "romantic" very loosely.

At one point he seemed to be about to comment rudely upon the corn-filled wonder that was the Colin Firth story line, however, since that was the best and cutest part of the movie and C.F. is my number one slightly balding 40 year old lova man, I would not permit him to speak ill of Mr. Daaaaaaarcy.

I don't think it's going well.

Anyway, in Big Chain Bookstore news, I feel I am a heartbeat away from being promoted, which means I've really been there far too long. My heart was very warmed the other day, though, when my favorite manager, Ted, saw me and got very excited, suddenly remembering that I was in his dream last night and he never remembers his dreams. I was like, "lawsuit," but no, he said, "Me, and my wife, and you, and somebody else that works here were traveling in Bolivia!" I'm so glad he took me to Bolivia. He really is the coolest one there, but in a quiet, funny, non-obnoxious way. I myself recently had my first non-nightmare bookstore dream, in which I was on the third floor listening to an announcement by a certain quiet girl who works there, who was saying in the cadence of workplace P.A. announcements, "Any manager, please pick up line 1. Any manager, asshole needing to be placated, line 1." And the entire store errupted in laughter. My workplace nightmares were always about shelving, when I was trying to shelve myself between the books and finding it very frustrating and confusing.

I haven't been doing NaNo at all. Should I just give up in advance? All I want to do is just come home and watch TV. :( What color is my parachute anyway??

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )