http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2002 12:17 am )

>I'm the king of bongo

Conclusion: I am the least interesting person in the world.

Case in point: obsessive playing of The Sims.

At least if I'm not going out and meeting people, my Sims are. Why, they move in and they're shaking hands with neighbors left right and center. Me, I'm just playing The Sims up in Juney's room, and descending periodically to check the mail (yesterday I received two phone books and a phone bill, nothing today). I was playing tonight when I became aware of a weird, kind of familiar, kind of musical sound. When I actually started to listen to it, I realized: bongoes. Ah, brings me back to PCU and all those stupid drumming hippies in the middle of the night. That's why I like this neighborhood, though: there's regular people, young families, and plenty of hippie students renting rooms on the third floor.

Today I went into Center City by myself for the first time. I did real well on the ol' public transpo, got my contacts for the year, and strolled around. I gave change to one beggar only. The whole beggar situation has been a bit of a challenge because I would like to follow the advice of my old friend Walt Whitman, who said "give alms to all those who ask," which sounds all right because I have spare change and they need it, except that I would say I encounter about 4 beggars a day, meaning that I'd be giving out money all over the place. Plus I don't want to be the one stupid white girl giving money to drunks, etc. I guess I usually give to the ones who ask in the most theatrical ways, which is possibly suspect, but they do look genuinely down and out. I'll just have to keep my change handier, cause I'm always digging around for it in my purse and living in fear I give out my precious SEPTA tokens by mistake.

Also on the streets I actually saw men turn around to watch girls walk past them, you know, like obvious ass-ogling, which I had never seen before in real life. I found it kind of interesting. I never turned around to see if anyone was looking at me, though I was wearing my booty-est pants today (purple-bruise masking). I am one hot mama!

Juney and Landlady Ellie return tomorrow, which is good because I'm incapable of entertaining myself, plus I haven't had a conversation longer than 30 seconds in days. Anyhow, the plan for tomorrow is to stroll around University City for the purposes of getting a haircut, procuring sneakers, Tasty Kakes, iced tea, and ramen, and checking the used furniture store for a bureau in the classy $20-25 range. And laundry. Laundry is at critical mass, T-shirt-wise.

One last sad and pathetic note: is it wrong to be jealous of your Sims because they get to smooch each other all the damn time?

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )