http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Nov. 05, 2002 12:56 am )

>Bondage and cotton-throat

I just finished my daily wordcount goal for my NaNoWriMo snovel, and man am I proud. It's getting a little bit harder for me to discipline myself, as evidenced by the fact that I feel it necessary to bind myself to my desk chair with my bathrobe tie, but I'm still in for the long haul. And now I know I like bondage, so all is well. I have to get in between 1700 and 2000 words a day, which of course is not a hardship in my case because I am a lazy non-working bastard. I'm like a lizard in that I get all cold and sluggish after the sun goes down, so it's hard to get started writing until I've lain on the radiator for a while.

Today I am suffering from a mysterious ailment which I am calling Cotton-Throat. It's not a sore throat and it's not cotton-mouth, but more a perpetually dry throat. It is soothed only while I am in the very act of drinking water, although after peeing 25,000 times today I switched to chewing on ice. Very unpleasant, but I get to complain, so again, all is well.

Today I got heartwarming emails from both of my parents. It's especially rare because usually my mother's emails are an irritant, but she really struck the right balance today of telling me how great I am and not even alluding to the fact that I am a total fuckup. Probably because I told her I wasn't feeling well today (sort of a lie, since I'm not really sick).

I've told Junebug that I will dedicate my novel to her, since she got me the rubber slug that I play with continually (that and my bathrobe tie and my ice) while I write. I know I talked about dedicating my first novel to Schmitty the wunderhottiementor, however, the thought of him has been less help than the rubber slug for this, my unpublishable work of a staggering (drunk) genius.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )