http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Jan. 19, 2003 11:02 pm )

>Who Would Jesus Bomb?

Today was momentous for two reasons. One is that I watched my first (and last) football game ever (on TV). I think I may have jinxed the Eagles by tuning in, but I was just excited to finally have a team, and a good team, to root for, having come from such uninspiring sports locations as Hartford and Poughkeepsie. Plus I was really excited to see some sports-fan-hooliganism in the city after the Eagles won the Super Bowl; however it was not to be. I'm even more upset because I just purchased a very cute football jersey-looking T-shirt in green and white. No joke.

The second momentous event was that after months of talking out my ass I finally made it to fake church (UU) this morning. At first I was utterly horrified because almost the first thing on the agenda was for new people to STAND AND INTRODUCE THEMSELVES TO THE CONGREGATION. My heart about stopped beating there. Needless to say, I did not stand. We're not talking a huge crowd, but one of the things I hate most in the world is waiting my turn to introduce myself in a going-around-the-circle-type deal. I get all nervous and usually jump the gun or forget my name or speak in an abnormally deep or gravelly voice. Who knows. I also remembered some of the things I dislike about church, namely, not knowing the tunes of hymns and not knowing the words to the creed, when to stand, etc. Hymn-singing is especially difficult because I'm not musically talented, and today as always there was a very loud soprano lady near me, making it impossible for me to find the right note. So I sang very, very softly, so even I couldn't hear what unaccustomed octaves I was wandering through. Nevertheless, the service grew on me the longer I stayed, and I'll definitely be back next week. I was so glad I finally went. Now I know where all the sweater-wearing liberals in this city are. Ah, my people. Let me get a No War With Iraq button and I'll fit right in.

And afterwards I went to get a cafe au lait and finish Villette. Holy shit. M. Paul bought Lucy a school! It was so exciting. And then that ending. I have to give mad props to Charlotte Bronte for realizing that the story required a happy ending while still acknoweldging that a happy ending was pretty unrealistic and maybe didn't really happen. Totally blew my mind. Lucy was just made to suffer, though I was gratified that she got her reward for being a good girl, proving one of the main tenets of my sanity: Good Girls Get What They Deserve.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )