http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Jan. 23, 2004 9:27 pm )

>If you are marchin', stop marchin'

Hey, did I tell you I was going to Florida in a week? Oh wait, yes I did. Repeatedly.

Did I also tell you it is bitterly, bitterly cold outside? Call was here last night and we took a cab for the six blocks between the restaurant and my apartment, that was how cold it was. Normally we have the walking fortitude of, say, Pa in the Little House books, who thought nothing of hiking twenty miles into town to barter and what not. We have a firm commitment to walking. We think nothing of the trek from Call's lab to his apartment (20 blocks), although admittedly we do occasionally break halfway for coffee, beer, or gummi candy (the three steadfast pillars of Call's diet). Yes. The sun has forsaken us, was my point.

Speaking of diets, I've been trying to eat more healthfully lately. In all honesty I've got this little pot belly thing going now, so I kind of wanted to lose about 5 pounds, although I have absolutely no interest in diet or exercise. The cookies will not be separated from my daily regimen without a fight. Instead I'm trying to start eating more healthfully, and cooking for myself rather than making prepackaged things or buying meals while at work. Also to stop buying candy bars from the machine at work (not successful today: bought a snickers out of desperation--maybe if the machine would sell me some tofu, damn it). Basically no more boxes of Tasty Kakes instead of regular meals. And, like, eating fruit and stuff. And I'm sort of vaguely trying to not eat as many carbohydrates, unless they're whole grain or accompanied by protein. The thing is, I'm not really trying too hard to do any one thing. I love cookies and bread and beer and food in general too much to really ever limit myself, especially since I'm ravenous all the time lately (the pill, possiblay?), but I am trying to cut back on my most obvious bad habits.

Ugh--I am becoming one of those food obsessed girls, I realize it sounds like. Perhaps it was the prospect of the topless beach in Miami, or the guilt of eating chocolate donuts for dinner with the resulting maternity belly.

Topless beach here I come.

Hey. And guess who I saw today? Pete Rose. He was at Big Chain Books, with a whole hoopla around him that enabled me to do virtually nothing for the first couple of hours I was working. So hooray for that. Were you aware his nickname is Charlie Hustle? Sometimes I fear that all the good nicknames are already taken.

Also today at work I was reading some Tiger Beats with of one of my co-workers for research purposes, and I learned a new word, which describes Adam Brody of hit television show The O.C., and also My Type: adorkable. Call is very adorkable. And indeed there was a guy at work today, ol' Wes, visiting from another store, who was also adorkable. Adorkable boys of the world, I am your queen. Tell me your favorite episode of Doctor Who; I shall listen with patience.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )