http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Aug. 22, 2002 1:03 am )

>Dispatches from the 1900 House

It's getting late. I went to bed earlier, but it didn't take, even with the blessed cool breeze of my fan. For the past two nights I've woken up at odd hours (reason: drinking). I wrote an entry about it last night, but it didn't go through. This diary is getting to be kind of a zen exercize in detachment in that I labor (well, I say labor) over entries that just disappear into the void upon completion. At the time I thought last night's work was award-winning, but it was really just the usual whining.

Tomorrow I believe Juney and I are going to the medical oddities museum. She's been going on about this place since long before we even moved, and I've finally agreed to go along, if only for the promise of an exhibit of foreign objects people swallowed in the 19th century. Oh, and I so so dearly hope they sell postcards. I'm a bit squeamish, actually, and don't much enjoy looking at horrible things in jars, but Junebug is a science girl and likes to hear me scream when she turns on the Facial Operation Show that always seems to be playing on the Discovery Channel. I mean, back when we had the Discovery Channel. Here in the 1900 House we are still without cable and renting movies like crazy (today the John Cusack double feature of High Fidelity and Say Anything).

Because I am cowardly, Juney is our spokesperson in dealings with our landlady downstairs. She (the landlady) has a baby though, and we always seem to catch her at inconvenient times (ie kid screaming, or, kid breast-feeding). Anyway, so tonight Juney went down to inquire about our lack of cable, but found Ellie (our landlady) on the phone and retreated back upstairs. We kept an ear out to hear when she got off, but then the baby was crying intermittently, and when it was finally quiet we had a very amsuing silent coversation together at the top of the stairs during which we mimed a debate about the possibility that Ellie was breastfeeding right then.

Top 5 Amusements in our 1900 House (a High Fidelity tribute list):

5. Scrabble--imaginary words allowed in latter half of game provided they can be used in a sentence.

4. Playing the Sims--this is mainly me because I am obsessed with giving my Sims the good life.

3. Taking shots of duty-free orange-flavored vodka in celebration of unnamed events--because sometimes it just seems right.

2. Re-watching rented movies twice each--Shallow Hal, Legally Blond, Fools Rush In, Royal Tenenbaums, High Fidelity, Say Anything.

1. Walking about discussing whether it feels as hot, not as hot, or hotter up here than it was earlier.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )