http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Oct. 04, 2002 12:58 am )

>The Junebug is 22 Part I

Tonight I'm in the midst of a surge of self-esteem. I feel confident in my choices so far and my current moratorium on further choices, and equal to anything, and planning solo travel. I feel sure that when I go home for Thanksgiving this year I will seem like a real adult to my family. I also feel sure that I stride through this city like I am a different person altogether from what I have been elsewhere. I catch myself sometimes in shop windows--in the reflection today I was wearing a skirt and tank top, but that's because it's laundry day. The smallest part of me feels that it's so wasteful that only I know how great I am. Maybe Juney.

Today was a mildly productive day. I set out to take care of much Juney-birthday-related business, but I kept getting sidetracked by the retail possibilities of the city, finding myself in odd thrift stores sorting through dresses and shoes and buying mango water ice because I can never pass up water ice. I was like a class full of second graders and at the same time the boring teacher trying to keep everyone On Task. You'll be glad to know I did accomplish my main Birthday Objectives, though as always I started eliminating things from my mental list as the day wore on. Also, the Amish weren't selling sunflowers today, so I merely purchased my shoo-fly pie with a disappointed look. Tomorrow it is important that I buy beer, because we're going to a big party, and big parties kind of scare me. Just a tiny bit of pre-game is called for, trust me, unless there is happy hour with the science geeks, which would be a lot of pre-gaming, as well as a severe tax on my social capabilities.

I also did a lot of pants laundry, cleaned house, bought ingredients for Thai red curry, purchased gold paint for the bathroom ceiling, maybe, read a little Mill on the Floss, and so forth. I bought myself a little present at the same boutiquey place that I bought June's gift, cause I'm a dummy like that. I got myself a big hemp-looking bag with a Klimt mother and child painted on it. It's rather enormous, but very pretty. For June I got one of those bulletin boards with the crossed ribbons that you tuck things under in a very Martha way. It's somewhat shabby chic-looking, which is in keeping with Juney's semi-pastel-y room. Also I don't think she has enough stuff on the walls, so viola! I am so cool.

Juney Birthday Mystery #1: I arrived home at about quarter to four and was mystified to see a Happy Birthday banner on our front porch. From whence? Not me, and Juney and all the science geeks were away all day at a retreat. Very peculiar.

Today erewhon's entry about flim-flam artists brought a smile to my face. It's always such an enjoyment to read all those lovely mid-day updaters, but today especially.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )