http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Aug. 17, 2002 11:47 pm )

>Mmm, noodle soup

Even though the unrelenting heat is really kicking my ass, I always feel the need to imbibe a nice steaming hot bowl of Ramen every night before bed. It pretty much cancels out my nightly cold showers, but it is worthwhile for the salt fix. My junior year in college I ate ramen twice a day for nine months, and after that I was burnt out on the stuff for a long time, but I am proud to say that my taste buds have regenerated and I thoroughly enjoy my little 20 cents worth of happiness.

This morning I walked down to Clark Park and bought vegetables and cookies from actual Amish people. There was a bearded guy and his two little girls in purple dresses, and two beautiful girls about my age manning the tomato concession and chatting up all the customers in a friendly way with very subtle accents. This is a stupid observation, but it was striking that they just looked and acted entirely like regular folks, yet we all know they live in a non-average way, on some farm somewhere...well, I told you it was a stupid observation.

Is it too early to start complaining? I really need to start meeting some people, but I never really had the knack for that. In other areas I am totally contented, wandering around our little apartment (almost called it a flat, har, faux-Brit affectation) and enjoying its utter beauty. Ditto neighborhood, ditto city. Things are converging, people! Ah, well, patience has always been my middle name.

So, here's what I'm wanting:

1. someone to kiss me on the front steps

2. movies on VHS (til we get cable)

3. for it to rain, or the heat wave to otherwise break

Everything else I could wait on happily.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )