http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Jul. 31, 2002 11:16 pm )

>Consolation comes in the form of potty talk

I was just talking over IM with my old roommate Ruby about how profoundly we miss each other and living at PCU. We were both listening to the radio station I used to play constantly in the house and in my car when we were driving around at night to Kelly's or the movies or the store or the diner, and we were both getting nostalgic. This week especially I've missed Ruby, and PCU, and our college town, and Nathan, and everything about that life so painfully. It's the music that makes it all the worse. It reminds me of my last night in the house with Ruby, and how we smoked the last of our pot, cooked and ate a whole package of bacon together (gross, I know), carried our beloved couch out to the donation pile, and cried how much we were going to miss each other. And so it is. Anyway, I feel a little consoled tonight because we agreed to go to our old PCU hometown this weekend and do some of the stuff we used to do. I've been wanting to for a long time, so I'm glad she wants to come along. It'll be so fantastic to see her, get drunk, laugh at her potty talk, and cry, probably.

Should I warn Nathan I'll be in town? I don't think so, as I think I know his haunts, and mine were always different. You can bet I'll be on the lookout for him wherever we go, though. My busy imagination likes to picture the excruciating awkwardness of seeing him out with a chick somewhere. Or even without a chick. Oh the delicious awkwardness.

Ohhh the music is killing me. It's so good, I tell you. I used to listen all day and late at night. ARrgh, homesick, homesick.

We definitely need to go see Stinky, who has an apartment in PCU-town now. Maybe that will remind me not to be nostalgic for being perpetually annoyed.

I really think that the Philadelphia move is just a first step in a slow progression westward, and maybe next year I'll live with Ruby again, in Chicago or San Francisco.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )