http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2002 11:25 pm )

>Dreamy, homesick, cute, unappreciated in my time

Right now I'm listening to the Sounds Eclectic show on the radio station I used to listen to when I lived at school. I love this station so much--it consists entirely of Songs Almostreally Wants to Hear. I'm glad it's on the internet, but it's still breaking my heart just a little bit that I'm listening here and not there. Why is it that your hometown is always where you are not? For at least the first three years I went to school, I missed the town/state where I grew up, and now I miss my college town, and someday I'll miss Philly the same way.

It occured to me the other day that tourism brochures should be written by people who used to live in the city being written about, and are feeling very nostalgic and homesick around 3 a.m., possibly drunk. You'd sacrifice a certain something in accuracy, but they'd be very heartfelt and glowing portrayals of a place.

Today the packing continued, as I mercilessly winnowed my stuff down to the bare essentials while mincing around in my one strappy tanktop and some ugly shorts. I am so fucking hot. I was absolutely dressed to wash the car and lean over the hood provocatively, but poor World, you miss out: today was a bumming around inside the friggin hot house day. Blegh. I can't wait to go to Philly and accrue a bunch of debt in order to motivate myself to find productive labor.

Holy cow, I'm missing PCU like crazy right now. I'd even happily live March, April, and May all over again, which is a sure sign of madness. In any case, I'm really looking forward to being in Philly....aaaand, I know it's pathetic to keep harping on the same thing all the time, but I'm really looking forward to having another boyfriend sometime. Although, like my girl Bjork says, "I know by now that you'll arrive by the time I stop waiting."

Also, did I tell you that Junebug rented Crossroads, the Britney movie, without me! Unbelievable. There's no point in her even asking me to borrow my Britney shirt at this point, cause I will just say "No way, mon ami" like, cold as ice, brotherman. We did watch Sorority Life together last night, which provided a salutory cautionary tale of the perils of female friendship and I think we all learned a lot.

I'm thinking about going to visit Walden Pond some day next week. I've heard you can swim in the pond, and I had fully intended to do so, but then I heard about the Florida kid who died from an infection of amoebas in his brain from, of course, swimming in a warm pond. So, maybe new plan: just see Thoreau's cabin and split.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )