http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2002 1:18 am )

>I say, Don!

I'm looking around my room, which is currently carpeted in piles of my stuff that I'm taking to Philly--books, dishes, bulletin board featuring historical front page of the Onion (HOLY SHIT: Man Walks on Fucking Moon), and pictures--and I am struck by how freakin cool my stuff is. It's nice to get the opportunity to sort out the good stuff and leave the crap behind. Unfortunately this equation leaves me with almost no furniture, but let's just say my new aesthetic is minimalism. Or shabby without the chic. Or! Neo-Martha with a Moral Compass.

Anyhoo, the aforementioned pictures were created by me today as my little art project. Last night I came up with the brilliant idea of taking pages out of some old yellowed childrens books I have and matting and/or framing them for the purpose of having cool wall adornment in my new Poverty-line Penthouse. All I have now are Beatles posters from when I was 13 and some Impressionist posters from a slightly-more-than-a-dollar store (PS, did you know it is totally uncool to like the Impressionists, Monet and what not? I mean, arty people tend to disdain pictures that are attractive to some extent). So anyway, I think I might have gone overboard with this idea, because I fixed up 4 pictures. Will it be very weird if I have a lot of yellowed, crumbling pictures with light blue mats on my walls? I think they're pretty cool. They're all black and white illustrations accompanied by captions or little bits of the story. Two are nursery rhymes (one of which I picked because the caption said "When I was a bachelor I lived alone") and two are illustrations of these weird, sissified, Britishy boys' stories in the books (A quote: "Dan said, 'I say, Don, let's go down into the preserve closet and get some marmalade,--as much as ever we can eat!"). Well, I found them funny at least.

Oh, and guess who called me tonight? Nathan. That was unexpected. I had almost convinced myself that I would never hear from him again, and lo and behold, it was him on the other end of the line when I was expecting June. Well, it's not a big deal or anything, but I'm always calculating the balance of affection in my head, and now I think I have the upper hand (mixed metaphor). Just in typing this I thought of two things I forgot to ask him about.

It is so butt-hot in my room right now. Lordy. How will I ever sleep?

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )