http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Jul. 19, 2002 6:51 pm )

>Ladies love Hallmark

Well, today I confronted the important birthday card for Nathan conundrum. Junebug thoughtfully suggested the card she got for her own non-boyfriend, which says "We have a pretty unusual relationship," and inside, "I'm pretty and you're unusual." Hah! So let's clarify my search, here: I was in the market for a card perfect for a sort-of-ex-sort-of-boyfriend, something that strikes the perfect blend of friendliness and disinterest, without too much humor or sentiment, that says I'm some kind of cool cat and he is missing out big time, maybe with a monkey on it. That was my quest. And even the Maya Angelou line of cards failed me. So I had to retreat to my orginial intentions of making him a card, same as I do for everybody else I know. $2.49 saved, plus I think I may have struck the perfect balance of aloofness and affection!

At the card store I reflected on my mother's last birthday...my father and I bought her presents and took her out to a nice restaurant, whereas my brother was nowhere around, too busy to make the effort. However, we came home to find that Adam had left a card for my mom, a card which I now believe to have come from the venerable Maya Angelou line, a card that contained a current of sentiment like a mighty river. It was all "I don't tell you often enough that I love you." Made my mom cry. When he got home, my dad and I were all accusatory, like "what the hell do you think you're doing?!" I learned my lesson, though: the placement of a little unexpected sentiment has huge power. Use it for good and not evil.

Also, I'd like to add that my parents are gone for the weekend, I am utterly alone, and oh lord, it is sweet!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )