http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Jun. 13, 2002 9:28 pm )

>Life at these speeds

Well, I'm back after a couple of weeks on hiatus. I'm now graduated from college and living at home for the summer, a painful state of affairs. I miss Ruby and my PCU lifestyle something dreadful, but I'm looking forward to moving to Philadelphia with June in August (har har). We found a cool little place on the third floor of this woman's house in West Philadelphia (born and raised, on the playground is where I spend most of my days...). Ruby is looking into moving to Chicago, which also happens to be where her crush-boy lives, coincidentally. And I'm still "dating" Nathan, though I am perpetually confused about how I feel about him. La la summary!

Today I have two exciting things to relate to you. One is that this guy who was my professor at school for one semester has written a novel that is out in print now that I am very excited to read. It's called Life at These Speeds by Jeremy Jackson, and I urge you to go out and purchase several copies immediately. He's obviously going to be the next cool young author, so get in on the ground floor and then you'll be able to patronize all the late-comers who'll only read it when Oprah does. It'll be like you discovered Dave Eggers, except not as annoying. Now I'm thinking he'll be doing a Google search for his name (Jeremy, not Dave) and read this, and then I will die of embarrassment. Thank goodness I'm anon, baby.

Cool thing 2 is another awesome misheard addition to the English language (the first being "eye pudding"). This morning I was eavesdropping on my mother talking to our cleaning lady, explaining about how my cousin just had her baby, and they named him Ewan, which, let's be honest, is a pretentious, Britishy name. They live in the midwest for heaven's sake. Anyway, the cleaning lady was as appalled as my family has been (although to be honest I think we were all sort of hoping it would be even worse, like Pippin or Fauntleroy or something) and she was asking "Is that a family name??" and my mother had to explain about my cousin's personality. Then I swear the lady's response was "Jeez, why didn't they just name him PBS?" I guess she didn't really say that, because it's almost total nonsense, but I thought it was pretty funny anyway.

Well, anyway, it feels good to be back on diaryland, although to not be typing from the comfort of my beloved apartment and my beat-up chair that Ruby said I never left is slightly depressing. Y'all holla back if you live in Philly or have read the book by Cool New Author "Action" Jackson.

Further, tomorrow is my 22nd birthday. I'm going out with June and Annette and Justine, which should be fun. I don't care that I'm so aged either, as I've been telling people I'm 22 for a month now anyway. The fun begins now, brotherman.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )