http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, May. 18, 2002 8:11 pm )

>He smells like sandalwood and cigarettes

Live Oak, with Moss

III.

When I heard at the close of day how I had been praised in the Capitol, still it was not a happy night for me that followed;

Nor when I caroused--Nor when my favorite plans were accomplished--was I really happy,

But that day I rose at dawn from the bed of perfect health, electric, inhaling sweet breath,

When I saw the full moon in the west grow pale and disappear in the morning light,

When I wandered alone over the beach, and undressing, bathed, laughing with the waters, and saw the sun rise,

And when I thought how my friend, my lover, was coming, then O I was happy;

Each breath tasted sweeter--and all that day my food nourished me more--And the beautiful day passed well,

And the next came with equal joy--And with the next, at evening, came my friend,

And that night, while all was still, I heard the waters roll slowly continually up the shores

I heard the hissing rustle of the liquid and sands, as directed to me, whispering to congratulate me,--For the friend I love lay sleeping by my side,

In the stillness his face was inclined towards me, while the moon's clear beams shone,

And his arm lay lightly over my breast--And that night I was happy.

--Walt Whitman

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )