http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Apr. 28, 2002 10:34 am )

>Hmm hmm hmm happy la la

Today's another Date With Nathan update day, as usual, and man, if I thought he was sweet before, yesterday he went into sweetness double overtime. Which is starting to convince me that he is perfect, strangely. We drove out to the park we were going to visit, but found it to be closed, which was kind of a bummer because we drove out pretty far. I was concerned to see if he'd be very pissed off, but he very properly joked about it and rerouted to this other park on the grounds of a mansion where we lazed around for a little bit. Talked about: high school, garbage barge, man who looked like Santa Claus. This would have been a good time to break out my planned smooching advances, yet I discovered it is much different to think of doing something than to actually do it.

After that we went out for Soft Serve (ie lunch), after which we had to drive around aimlessly for a while, trying to think of the next thing. Eventually strapped for ideas, a movie was decided on, and here's where June would want to kill me, because I went with him to his house, ostensibly to check on movie listings. And she had told me before the first one "Remember: if you go to his place it implies sex. So don't go, even if he has a puppy!" Or offers me candy, apparently. But I did it anyway. I just find him so appealingly awkward, you know. If he was quite smooth I would feel like I was getting played, but there is something very heartwarming about someone who will say it--"I wanted to kiss you back at the mansion, but I didn't know how"--rather than just go in for the kill. So I made out with him a little bit on his couch. Oh my. I did. It was quite nice, too. There were some funny interruptions, as the TV was on, first tuned to a strong man competition, and then golf--I don't know what I was thinking, but eventually he had to put on a new soundtrack for us.

The next thing was the movies, to see Amelie, which I had already seen and liked, and he had not [not seen, that is]. Again, a good time, and you know at the end where Amelie pulls Nino into her apartment and kisses him three times, and then he kisses her three times, and then they cut to the cat, watching them? Well, we turned to each other at that moment, since of course we had been kissing, and his cat was sort of hanging out with us as well. It was a nice little conspiracy moment, but the funny part was he failed to discover the fact that I was acting out my Amelie fantasy with him in the first place, and even kissed him on the corner of his mouth (and he kissed my neck). Thank god I didn't go for the eyelid, that would really have been obvious.

And in further sweetness news, his next idea was to have a picnic. A picnic, folks, and was I not just mentioning how much I wanted to loll in the grass with my imaginary boyfriend? I believe the 3rd date is a tricky territory, yet still I do not care, for he is...well, ideal. There, fine, I said it. Whoever winds up with him will be lucky.

If he ever finds this diary, I'll have to stab myself.

After I came home, and had dinner finally, I wound up going to Local Bar with Suzy. Not one but three of her Local Bar men were there, so I guess I got to play chaperone mostly, but I pretty much knew that from the start, and just wanted to get drunk and happy as usual. I believe I was pretty drunk too, or at least as drunk as I usually get, because I now know how to back away from the abyss before I cross that critical puking-threshhold. A very good skill. I did well, too, because this morning I only have a tiny headache. Oh, and I got up wicked early for no discernable reason, but that's OK.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )