http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2002 10:17 pm )

>In the Art History ring of Hades

I've got a paper to write tonight, which I hate. I feel through with college and through with homework, but college is not through with me. At least I'm a little better off than this one kid in my class...I overheard the following conversation between him and my art history professor today:

Kid: ....

Professor: Well, it's too late now. It's due tomorrow.

Kid: Tomorrow!!

Professor:[serious] We'll talk about it after class.

Heh heh, sucker. At least I have a topic, sort of. This kid ran further afoul of the professor in class by asking the following question while gesturing towards the slide of the artwork:

"Is he Asian?"

to which the professor sputtered "Is Shiba Kokan Asian??!?" (subtext being: "Is the Pope Catholic?!"). Actually the kid was asking whether one of the figures in the painting was Japanese, and I was wondering the same thing. The professor was made to understand eventually. He's always on a different wavelength than this poor guy anyway: this was the same kid who provoked him by asking for directions to the Met.

Today I found that I got into Phi Beta Kappa, which is Greek for "Give Us 40 Bucks, Sucka." I'm not sure exactly what basis they had for selecting me, but I'm glad they did now, before discovering how I've ingeniously shot my GPA into the crapper this semester. Eh, class-schmass. I'm skipping everything tomorrow in order to finish this paper.

Yesterday evening I called the internet boyfriend. I'm going to see him again on Saturday. His date ideas were sort of weather-depedant though, so I'm not sure what the plan will be. I'm pretty sure he's fed up with me already, because I realized I was being alternately very sarcastic and very quiet, which is probably not a good combination. Hopefully I have been "lightening the situation" rather than "emasculating him with humor." That's such a subtle distinction. The thing was that he mentioned that there was a canoe race going on Saturday, and I think I might have made fun of that a bit because he did mention later that he wasn't joking about there being a race, or wasn't joking about wanting to go to it, or something. Sorry, buddy, I think I'm an outdoor-girl and all, but a canoe race is a joke. Ah, my Tiny Boyfriend. I still wanna smooch him hardcore though, so I hope he thinks I'm pretty. Say my name, canoe boy!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )