http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Apr. 18, 2002 6:21 pm )

>Before the first commercial break

This entry is going to be the equivalent of the first part of A Dating Story, which always ends with the doorbell ringing and the daters about to meet for the first time, a scene which always makes me cringe with sympathetic nervousness. That scene rolls around and I would not trade places with those people at that moment for all the money in the world. And yet look what I'm doing to myself. Going on a date. With an older guy. Who seems to think I am in fact a real, bona-fide grown-up. Who I am eating dinner with. What am I doing? What am I doing? Tune in late late late tomorrow for the answer, in an entry I presume I'll write after a recovery period at Local Bar with Ruby.

I talked to Nathan, the internet boyfriend I'm going on the date with, on the phone last night. He left a message on the machine first, actually, pleasing me because he had a nice voice, did not have a speech impediment, and sounded a bit nervous. I called back after some delay involving a shower, and we had a very very short conversation about where we'd meet, during which I introduced the topic of "hot weather." Conversational gold.

Further, I've come to believe that my prepared end-of-date rejection line about being busy at school this month will not be necessary because I am already so naturally astounding: last night, in preparation, I used a little Nair. Usually I do not have a problem with Nair, but I have been unsatisfied with its potency. So I left it on right up til that ten minute mark. Result: CHEMICAL BURNS. Also, did I neglect to mention that what I was nairing were not my legs. No, I was attempting to stop my hairline from encroaching on my neck, so now I have matching CHEMICAL BURNS on each side of my head, just under my jawline. CHEMICAL BURNS. Right before my first date. At least I can camoflage the damage with my hair, which decides the question of whether to put it up or down for me. (Sigh) I'm not the type of person to mess with my hair all the time, having terrible dying and perming and cutting experiences, but I more than make up for that by this kind of thing. What do you think, should I go on trying to be a functional member of society, or should I just toss in the towel now?

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )