http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Apr. 13, 2002 2:20 am )

>I heart dorks

Whoa. Well, tonight I replied to the guy from the online personals who lives in my town, and I got a message back from him almost instantly! Unfortunately, I didn't notice it for at least a half hour, so I kept him waiting right off the bat (I guess I was following _The Rules_ without being aware of it). We did manage to have a little im conversation for quite a while and he sounded pretty nice. I may have even seen him around before, because he works in an art supply store where I bought my charcoals, etc. He lol-ed at my jokes too, so that earned him a trillion points. This could turn into a date eventually--I have never been on an actual go-out-for-a-drink date-like situation. Oh my.

There might have been a few red flags in there, but I will choose to ignore them entirely. A few things that made me go "hmmmm."

1. He was a nude model (for art classes) a few times in college.

2. Dropped out of college to be a musician, currently works in "graphics."

3. Once had long hair.

But OK, so these aren't too bad. He even played off the long hair in the following adorable manner: "I was also [an air-dry person] when I had long hair (what? I had long hair? OH NO!)" And the job thing isn't a big deal either, because you know when I graduate I'll have some crappy temp or retail job while I try to write on the side. The nude model thing remains a puzzle.

Do you think it was a mistake to do the im thing first off instead of talking on the telephone? Frankly, I was pretty tired tonight in the first place, and anyway, I am much much better over im than the phone because I can, like, ponder and punctuate and everything. Maybe I'll try the phone call as the next step. You know, I'm thinking this could be quite good for me--now I can start thinking of myself as a sort of dating power player and start stringing along some PCU guys too. Yeah, I'm gonna start being a total slut and.....make eye contact! I have a feeling that I am so lame it is almost really cool...are you getting that vibe?

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )