http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Wednesday, Apr. 10, 2002 8:10 pm )

>"I look at your pants, and I need a kiss..."

I had another morning of webMD-induced hypochondria; this time I was sure I had either mono or tonsilitis. I was looking over the list of symptoms and I was like "Oh my god! I'm fatigued! All the time!" Yeah, and I'm also only sleeping 4-5 hours a night. Basically, I just have a sore throat. Which I'm treating with cold beer. I may seek medical treatment if it persists, but I'm basically stoical in the face of illness. I'm pretty sure I'll die of something very benign someday because I refused to seek treatment for an infected toe or a cough or something.

Today in my new favorite class, Russian history, we had a little story hour in which the kid who's actually from Moscow got to tell us all about his childhood. I quite liked it since I'm very fascinated with his subtle foreigness--he lived in the USSR until age 13, yet has no trace of an accent. If it was up to me, the class could easily turn into "Let's Talk About Sasha and How He Came to Be So Adorable." Screw the Tsars.

Today was very nice out, making me feel both nervous about graduating and calm in a warm, summery way. As I was walking to the library, I noticed this boy from Russian history (not Sasha), who was lying on the pavement, reading. Now this boy is one I've often thought of as "elligible." He's kind of cute and mild mannered, he wears shorts and sandals long before the weather merits it...in short, he seems kind of like an appropriate match for me, though he doesn't quite set my heart afire. Does it matter that I don't have a full-scale crush on him? Anyway, I may have passed up a golden opportunity today, since I think I would feel most comfortable risking rejection when the other person is totally prone on the ground. Makes me feel tall, and makes it easier to sexually harrass someone outside the library. I've been feeling so brave lately; I wish I had a real interest in someone!

I sat outside a bit today, but I don't see it in my face. It made me happy, though. I got to walk by the boys and one girl playing ultimate frisbee--they were being pretty hardcore about it instead of being easy-going hippies. Friday I'm going to buy flip-flops: one pair red and one pair black, I think.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )