http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Friday, Apr. 05, 2002 8:54 pm )

>Freaks and actors

How can I be expected to go out tonight? I feel like a freak, and I have a cold sore (those are two unrelated issues). Am I literally the strangest person that ever lived? The trouble is that last night the Mellow Loneliness Hour shifted gradually into the Midnight of Utter Despondency, and I'm still feeling the after effects. I'm not quite sure which would be more theraputic: go out or just get the heck out of Dodge, either home or to PA tomorrow morning. I'm pretty sure I need to find a hobby other than self-loathing either way.

So this afternoon I was watching the Zeferelli Romeo and Juliet on AMC. I last watched this about 8 years ago, in high school, when we were reading the play. I had forgotten about the lingering ass-shot of Romeo in the morning-after scene. Very intriguing. Juliet was a little too prissy and annoying, and Mercutio was a scenery-chewer, but Romeo--now there's a guy you can get behind. And whose behind you can admire at length. I also wanted to mention that I've actually seen the play performed on stage, with "Ally McBeal" as Juliet. Seriously. This was way before she was Ally, and to be frank, she sucked. In order to show emotion, she would make a sobbing gasp for breath in the middle of her lines, like: "Romeo [gasp!] Romeo [gasp!] wherefore art thou Romeo? [gasp!]" It was a matinee performance, filled with high school kids and old people, and after a point, the kids were audibly mocking ol' Calista, making the gasping noise right after her every time she did it. It was a tough room for Ally. We saw "Mrs. Huxtable" in another play at this theater, and she was much better.

Ah, Memooooooooories. Another time my friend and I had front row seats, and we were just beside ourselves at how much the actors spit when they talked.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )