http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Sunday, Mar. 03, 2002 2:42 am )

>Funk dat!

Well, tonight we indeed did not have the funk, despite the fact that we had to have that funk. Not to sound self-defeatist, but I had the distinct feeling that we were not going to get into the concert. Ruby and I waited on line for 2 hours to get tickets for the George Clinton show, only to be turned away just as we were nearing the head of the line. So sadly, our night was far less funkdafied than we had originally planned. As compensation, we headed out to see Queen of the Damned (and realized we recognized one of the actors from school, which is always weird) and then to our favorite restaurant, Denny's, to consume fried foods, and finally, back home to watch ER theater and (in my case) get a little drunk.

On line we had the diversion of listening to the boys in front of us, who were either already high or just naturally Beavis-and-Butthead-esque. I overheard the following exchange:

Stoner 1: I don't think George Clinton would wait on line for his own concert, and I gotta do what George would do, man.

Stoner 2: What Would Jesus Do?

Stoner 3: Dude, Jesus wouldn't wait on line for a concert. He'd be in the library, like, studying!

Stoner 1: [scolding] No he wouldn't!

Theology can be so tricky. Anyway, maybe I'll try to start doing some darn work tomorrow, seeing as I have midterms all next week. I definitely have to finish my essay tomorrow--it's on the topic of "mind/memory" and yet so far seems to be about Silly Putty. I'm pretty confident I can make that seem like a poignant analogy to something, somehow. But for now, sweet, sweet sleep.

Goodnight.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )