http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Feb. 23, 2002 7:19 pm )

>If the professor uses the word "cunt" in class, run away and don't look back

Just got an email from the Anthro class I dropped (like a hot potato). I'm apparently still on the list, even though I haven't been since the first day, when I nearly jumped out of my seat and left, the course was so awful from minute one. Taught by a swearing, too-cool Jack from Will & Grace spouting horrendously vague assignments, plus, disturbing art cinema and a class full of opinionated trust-fund film majors anxious to show how sexually liberated they are. Now to me that spells Fabulous. Anyway, the email again made me thankful I don't have to take that class, as it detailed the "Making Sex" group's class project, which "should be a lot of fun" (I'll bet) and refered to a heated discussion on last Thursday which was not productive, guys, seriously. Neat. Please tell me I will not meet people like this in the real world. Here's a course I need to take: How Not to be Fooled by Interesting-Sounding Course Names.

Last night proved to be a great-ish time with Kelly: we all had a very hard time sitting through the play because it was a musical and three hours long, but then we went back to her house, starving, and tore apart a pizza, and played a board game called "Moods" which was pretty fun. Kelly also had her new video camera rolling from time to time: once she left the room, and Ruby and I really wanted to get something funny on tape for her to discover later...flashing seemed the best option (modestly, with bra). Yep, we've officially "gone wild." I'm pretty embarrassed it's on there now. We talk big talk about streaking around various campus landmarks, but haven't followed through yet. And we like to tell Kelly that we'll be attending her wedding naked (they say you'll often meet your future spouse at a wedding).

Anyway, that marked the second Friday in a row in which I have had a good little wholesome time without any alcohol whatsoever. Not that I'm a big lush, but for two Fridays I've been in situations where we would typically drink (last week, dancing--this week, sitting around late at night), and yet had a really fine time clear-eyed. Very healthy, I think. Last Friday was in fact one of my better days, ever, because I finally got a little bit of action--meaning dancing and smooching--and felt not at all sluttish, because A. I was being forward without the benefit of liquid courage (impressive!) and B. since the nice boy in question was not drinking either, I could be sure it was not a case of his impaired judgement, and maybe I really was adorable (it's my nightmare to be somebody's bad beer-goggles experience).

Today I took a nice long walk around campus and town and had a nice little time. I'm already feeling nostalgic for this place in anticipation of graduation. Sad. Well, tonight may be another low-key night..I think I'm going to go to the bookstore in a little bit (though I've had bad experiences there Saturday nights, such as encountering an unfortunate singer-songwriter doing Leonard Cohen covers in the coffeeshop area). On an unrelated note, don't hate me for patronizing the big chain bookstores. I'll just browse through all their magazines and not buy, I swear. There had been plans of going to see the Britney movie, but Ruby's working tonight, so maybe it's just time to chill. Hiking tomorrow!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )