http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Saturday, Feb. 23, 2002 1:43 am )

>"Would you like me to seduce you?"

This "morning" I woke up to a message from my friend Kelly on our answering machine. She graduated last year and now works at a prep school in CT, and she wanted me and Ruby to come up to see the school play. As always I was eager to go as having watched Dead Poets Society 80,000 times it really tickles me to see all those handsome preppy rich boys in their cute little suits and ties and get all swoony over the Knox Overstreet-esque ones. And as always, I have to remind myself that going to PCU I see these same cute little preppies a few years down the road, when all the handsome suited boys have turned into dirty hippie boys. Prep schools are like a whole unguessed at world to me: who knew they even existed? I suppose I always thought very wealthy people were just in the movies. Anyway, I'm far too old to be liking these boys, although I did get a little joy out of being in a whole crowd of tall skinny broad shouldered super-preppie boys. It gives me a real charge, cause PCU is mostly girls, so it's rare to find myself outnumbered. Oh well, maybe someday I'll get to be Mrs. Robinson. I already have my pick-up line figured out: "Well hey there baby, ever ridden in a Toyota before?"

I'm a bit disappointed, because my brother and I were planning to go to Scotland (or "the Motherland", or "the Old Country")but as it turns out, getting tickets at the last minute is not in fact a good plan, and I was startled to find the cheapest ones for March were 700 bucks. Yikes. He seemed to think we could just fly into London, and I had to explain that Edinburgh is not really within walking distance of the south of England. This is perhaps why he's failing Geography.

Last night I was very amused to find Ruby listening to something I can only describe as Soft Rock Favorites. It was funny because she's looks a little like a raver city-chick, but loves metal and weird satanic bands, and there she was with some elevator music mp3 ("Into the Night"). It turns out that they play a muzak-type radio station in the office she works in, so these songs get in her head.

Happily, I had a nice, funny, reassuring email waiting from my father when I got home tonight. I think we get each other: we share the same personality. How nice. Shower time.

Goodnight.

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )