http://intoanother.net --> Act natural
 

( Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 4:07 pm )

>Coffee coffee buzz buzz buzz

Hey everybody, what's going on? I just got home from work. It's kind of early to be back because I went in at 7 today, forcing me to awaken at 5:30 in the morning. That's the earliest I've been up that was not for the purpose of a) seeing atmospheric phenomenon or b)catching a plane/train. Anyway, I had a pretty nice day at work today, with a nice mixture of weird, loner activity (shelving, which reminds me of working at the PCU library, did I ever mention that to you? I liked that job, but I only ever worked for 15 minutes per shift, then snuck out while billing for two hours of work, heh. I liked that job, obviously) and busy, customer-insanity activity (info. desk). One of the managers (actually the guy who interviewed me--he's always in customer-service-moment-of-truth mode, i.e. the soul left his body long ago) asked me if I wanted to pick up a shift tomorrow, and my brain clicked over that for a second, pondering whether or not we wanted to waste a good Friday night by spending it at the bookstore, and whether we should remain on Call Mini-Break Red Alert status just in case he's planned a trip, and finally arrived at the answer, "yes, we will accept money in exchange for labor." And then I was immensely relieved moments later when he realized he didn't need me after all.

It's funny that I had to get up early today since I have just finished A Box of Matches by Nicholson Baker, which is all about the random thoughts of a guy who gets up at 4 every morning. If you've read anything by him before, you'll probably guess what it's like. Really good though. He always goes into the minutia of everyday life that you usually don't think much about, so it's kind of funny and interesting and different. Plus, for a lot of it I get this great feeling like "I know exactly what you mean, buddy!" because I've observed the same things about train whistles or donuts or toenail clippers or something, or else felt the same thing without putting it into words. So many tiny tiny good moments. My favorite part is when he thinks back to notes his father left him in the mornings, pointing out breakfast foods. Good stuff.

So since I was such a good girl today and it was so beautiful out, I stopped by Ben and Jerry's on my way home, and let me tell you, that coffee ice cream cone was the most delicious thing I have ever tasted. I was telling myself not to get it, since I have plenty of highly caloric food here at home, and I've been kind of a fat-arse lately despite all the walking about I do, but I guess I haven't had any ice cream in a while, cause man....tasty. Good call to get one. It's always a good call to eat ice cream.

Have you noticed that this entry is mostly about me and my head having conversations? I was just thinking about this last night, how sometimes I feel like two people in one: an adult person and a child person, and it's the adult-me that takes care of the child-me: wakes me up and puts me to bed and tries to budget and thinks of consoling things when I am lonely.

Further note: so you know that Junebug has dragged me unwillingly into watching Daws (The Creek) every week? Well, the series is almost wrapping up (which is a good thing, as it will finally displace Joey Potter from her position at the center of the universe), but according to the "scenes from the next" one of the main four characters is going to die. That is SO wrong. My money's on Pacey, but it would be so fitting if it was Joey: the world would fall off its axis. Dawson would also be a good one, but it would be too wrong to bereave his mother once again, so soon after the death of the strangely brawny and youthful father. And it can't be Jen, because Grams already has a monopoly on death in that family, what with the cancer and all. So that is the Almostreally Dawson's Speculation Corner for today. And I still maintain that I don't like the show; Juney MAKES me watch it I SWEAR!

<< - >>

( current ) ( archive ) ( notes ) ( rings ) ( email ) ( profile ) ( design ) ( diaryland )